Some people think that parents should give their children complete freedom. Others feel that parents should limit their children's freedom. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a controversial issue about the level of independence parents should give their children. Some teachers argue that young people should have more autonomy, while some social workers believe that parents should restrict them as much as possible. This essay will discuss both points of view and agrees with the idea of autonomy to children.

Let us start with the reasons why some teachers suggest parents to grant their children more opportunities to make decisions themselves. The first reason is that they quickly become mature. Children, who are more independent of their parents, tend to learn soft skills faster than those are constantly under parental supervision. Another reason is that they find lifelong hobbies. The youth, who are less dependent on their parents, normally find more permanent interests in life, that influence their choices in the future, such as career and spare time activities. Furthermore, parents have more time for themselves. Having fewer parental responsibilities allows parents to spend more time on other things, including building relationship with one another and losing weight.

However, some social workers claim that children should be under a thorough supervision of their parents. Firstly, they may develop bad habits. Having more freedom from parents may cause immature minds to take unhealthy habits, for example, smoking and drug addiction. Secondly, they may make friends with unwanted peers. Many adolescents tend to join some criminal groups, if they are unrestricted by their relatives in choice of acquaintances. Moreover, they may fall victim. In society, children may become involved in sexual harassment, unless their parents pay strict attention to the people around their children.

In conclusion, even though some social workers think that parents should control what their children do on the maximum, I think that it is better for them to receive more freedom from parental control.