Being a celebrity – such as a famous film star or sports personality – brings problems as well as benefits.

Do you think that being a celebrity brings more problems or more benefits?

Stardom gives celebrities like movies actors or athletes glory in addition to problems. However, the demerits of being a star are so minuscule compared with the privileges and public respect a celebrity frequently enjoys.

Firstly, celebrities are getting wealthy mainly through their stardom. High-value adverts contracts and mammoth remunerations they are granted with, for instance, are taking consideration of how famous they are in the public. In addition to this, they are respected and adored by people in all corners of life, irrespective of which field they became famous for. The way actor Rajnikant urged public and averted a turmoil in two states of India during the Kaveri River water dispute is a good example of how much influence these celebrities can impose in the society.

Conversely, the benefits of being a star come at the price of privacy of life. The life of a celebrity is always in the spotlight on and off the screen. Overwhelming fans and media make them prone to controversies and bitter criticisms over their lifestyles, family life and attitudes. The burden of being diplomatic and overcautious stands on public and personal matters make the life of them more materialistic.

To conclude, in my opinion, even though stardom comes at an expense for celebrities, the advantages they enjoy in our society are enormous that a common man can never dream of.