The best way to reduce traffic congestion in cities is to provide a free public transport service. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and examples from your own experience. (India – Academic – March 2018)

Transportation facilities enable travel from one place to another. With transport, come the problems of traffic congestion and pollution. Therefore many opine that to minimize traffic on roads, public transport services should be free of cost. However, I disagree with this claim on the grounds that no cost public vehicles will lead to economic strain on other sectors as well as pose a safety risk for travelers.

Proponents of free public transport have their opinion because of several benefits that their claim will provide. Firstly, if the public means of travel will be cost free, more and more commuters will avail the common transport. To exemplify, people who have privately owned cars or bikes will prefer travelling by public buses or local trains if they are free rather than spend money on petrol or diesel. Secondly, many low-class and middle-class people invest huge amount of money in buying cars or motorbikes for commuting to workplace and the availability of free transport will greatly reduce their economic burden.

In spite of the benefits that no cost travelling will offer, there are some serious issues that arise with this ideology. With the population increasing exponentially, there will be an increase in the number of people who commute through government provided vehicles. In other words, this will lead to overcrowding in such vehicles and may also sometimes result in a stampede posing a threat to the lives of citizens. Moreover, to cater to the transport needs of a large population, the government will have to invest huge amount of money on the maintenance and availability of a huge number of travel services for people. This in turn, will compromise the budget that has been reserve for other public sectors like health and education.

To recapitulate, despite some superficial benefits that no charge commuting services by the state will offer, I deny strongly that it will be the optimum approach to reduce traffic congestion because of problems like danger to people's lives and strain on the economy.