The best way to reduce traffic congestion in cities is to provide a free public transport service. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and examples from your own experience. (India – Academic – March 2018)

Global warming is a prevalent issue and has detrimental effects on the natural environment. Many have the opinion that the restriction of the use of personal vehicles will aid in controlling the air pollution. However, I partially agree with this claim and believe that self owned transport is a necessity for the smooth survival of people and to prevent the strain on transport sector.

Proponents of the ban on private cars or bikes have several reasons for their position. One major reason is that the limited or no use of private automobiles will reduce the proportion of Carbon dioxide that is emitted to the natural surroundings. Thus, people will face less breathing difficulties caused due to polluted air and health of the public will be greatly improved. Nevertheless if people are urged to buy electric cars then the amount of poisonous gases will be minimized. Another significant reason is that the congestion problems during peak hours will be remarkably reduced. To exemplify, a large population have their own two wheeler and four wheeler to commute to office which in turn is the major cause for traffic jams at most routes and a reduction of these vehicles will deter the traffic jam on these roads.

Despite of these superficial benefits, there are certain problems associated with disallowing personally acquired means of travel. One major dilemma is the compromise of the comfort and flexibility of the commuters. To illustrate, people who are accustomed to the luxury of air conditioned four wheeler will have to face the discomfort and suffocation in government provided travelling options like buses and local trains. Another critical problem is the strain on the financial budget that is allocated for the public transport. For instance, in over populated cities like Mumbai, the common travel facilities are already crowded during peak hours and if the city bus service is free of charge then to support the increase in the number of travelers more amount of money will be needed to setup the transport infrastructure.

To conclude, although there are certain environmental and public benefits if personal transport is banned, I somewhat disagree that it should be completely restricted and believe that it is essential for the comfortable travel of the people provided that they use travel alternatives that do not pose a threat to the natural ecosystem.