In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with

other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes

the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from

your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that government spending always arouses a certain amount of controversy. While I agree that older people should be care by their families, I also believe that the government should shared a financial burden with people.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why family plays an important role in support their parents when they are old. Elders who spent time upbringing and taking care of their children deserve the care given by their children. So family have responsibility to provide finance for the nursing home where there are nurses to look after their parents. For example, at present some families are willing to pay a huge amount of money for special services for their parents including the medical and the entertainment.

On the other hand, it is wrong to reject the argument in favour of spending of government on welfare for older people. Firstly, some families can not afford enough money to pay expenses on the nursing home. So government should help them by paying this care or a part of it. Secondly, elders devoted themselves to companies or the society so they have rights to be given the support for their contributions. For example, when they work for a company, they have to pay insurances which is returned to them after they retired. This is also simple way that government helps people to save money for future life.

In conclusion, I advocate that taking care of the old is mutual duty of families and government.