Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular.

Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Today online shopping is getting more common by the day. This inclination towards online buying has more benefits than disadvantages, because it is fast and also gives access to variety of products and services.

In recent times, people have limited time to do things because of increased work hours, therefore to make purchase, busy individuals use online platforms. In a physical shop the person will have to be present, wait in long queues for minutes to hours, go through lots of shelves to select what they want, this is not feasible for an individual who works 8 -12 hours a day and needs to manage time properly. For example, staff of Johnson pharmacy Nigeria are sometimes required to work 12 -15 hours a day, this has led to more than 80% of the staff members resorting to internet shopping to cut down time used to buy things and manage limited time effectively.

Online stores gives access to variety of products from different organizations, at the same time, in different locations of the world, unlike the offline stores which have only products available in the given location. The possibility of been able to access different ranges of products, compare and choose from different locations is an advantage people like and can only explore properly on the internet. For example, a popular Nigerian Facebook influencer makes her purchase online, because she can access different kinds of products online from all over the world instead of buying from one store in Abuja, which she considers limiting.

Some people might consider buying things online risky, however the disadvantage does not outweigh the benefits it gives such as good time management and wide ranges of products.