News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news would it be better if more good news were reported?

Contents of newspapers and television are decided by news editors. This is because they need to make money, which is only possible when they are popular, so therefore they choose news that will drive traffic to their platforms. Series of bad news have a way of affecting the general wellbeing of the country, with repeated sad events people become used to sad news.

News of unfortunate events spreads faster than news of good happenings, so the media houses will prefer to share sad happenings to the public rather than good news, I believe the public would benefit more from good news instead of bad news, therefore good news should be to reported more frequently.

Whatever is seen on television or read on in newspapers is usually the side of the story news editors want people to interact with and this is common because, editors prefer to put out news that will attract the public so they remain in business. For instance, during the protest against the government in 2010, Channels television got the attention of the public by focusing on every update from the protester not much was seen from the government side. Although the government responded, people focused more on what the media house showed. This influenced people in making choices in the next election.

People become comfortable with bad news especially when they feel nothing can be changed, as it has been happening repeatedly, they become numb to its effect. An unfortunate event spread faster than a good event and this is so because it elicits negative emotions, although it spreads faster I believe it should be reported less frequently. Negative emotions makes people make take decisions that are not rational.

To conclude, people are only allowed to see what the editors have decided to be most important, because the aim is to give out news that would sell. I believe good news should be published more, even though people get used to sad news, it not good as it may lead to them having to take wrong decisions.