car advantages nd disadvantages

With the advancement in the technology, modes of transportation have changed noticeably. Earlier, people used to travel by horses or bullock-carts or even by foot. Although, now people like to travel by motored vehicles such as cars, trains, buses as they are swifter than any other mode of transport. People having enough money usually buy a car instead to avoid any kind of inconvenience caused by using public transport. However, with an increasing number of car owners, a conversation has sparked whether the car is a better option or not.

Having a car, of course, has some advantages. Firstly, we can go from one place to another without switching any mode of transport. Secondly, it provides the comfort we sought after. But most importantly, the car gives us the freedom to decide when should we start our journey. Furthermore, it's not necessary to abide by the tight schedules of public transport. Moreover, we need not be anxious about the things we carry while commuting, we can simply put them in the trunk of the car. Also, if are traveling with kids, there is nothing to be bothered about their actions and tantrums.

On the other side of the coin, the car does have some disadvantages as well. First of all, it causes pollution which could have easily be avoided if the public means were utilized. Consequently, there is a drastic increase in the number of asthma patients living in the metropolitan areas. Secondly, the car runs on petrol which is a depleting causing the car operating prices to skyrocket, hence directly affecting our expenditure. Also, the car requires space for parking which is not in abundance everywhere causing long traffic jams which is annoying for a car owner as well as for others.

In my opinion, I would always prefer a car over any other means of transport until and unless public transport outweighs the positives of owning a car.