Children can learn effectively by simply watching television, therefore they should be allowed to do so to watch T.V. regularly at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Development in technology is benefiting children in many ways. Some people argue that children can upgrade their knowledge by watching television, thus children should have permission to see television at a regular interval in schools as well as in the house. While watching films definitely improve the knowledge of a viewer, I think observing screen for more time period may have a disadvantage for the viewer in terms of health.

Children should be encouraged to watch television as it is an easy way to learning about different aspects. Television programs can help the learner to understand things easily and remember for a longer time as they are considered more interesting for the viewer because of the design and graphics in the presentation. For instance, Documentary play on Discovery channel is more interesting as it involves graphics with the sound mix to keep the viewer focus as compared with reading about the same on books.

On the other hand, watching television on a regular basis can have detrimental effects on health, therefore students should not be forced to watch television for a long time. Watching the screen for the longer duration can have adverse impacts on the eye of a viewer and the addiction of the same result into negative consequence only. For illustration, according to the survey of health department of USA, around 20 per cent of eye problems are genetic and the remaining 80 per cent are affected by watching television for a longer duration.

In conclusion, watching television for the learning purpose is profitable for the learner, however, the drawbacks can result in damage of vision. Hence I believe that television as a source of study is beneficial to some extent only.