Children can learn effectively by simply watching television, therefore they should be allowed to do so to watch T.V. regularly at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Development in the technology is benefiting children in many ways. Some people argue that children can upgrade their knowledge by watching television, thus children should have permission to see television at regular time at school as well as at home. While watching films definitely improve the knowledge of a viewer, I think observing screen for more time period may have disadvantage for the viewer in terms of vision.

Children should be encouraged to watch television as it is the easy way to learning about different aspects. Television programs can help the learner to understand things easily and remember for longer time as they are considered more interesting for the viewer because of the design and graphics in the presentation. For instance, Documentary play on Discovery channel is more interesting as it involves graphics with sound mixture to keep the viewer focus as compared with reading about the same on books.

On the other hand, watching television on regular basis can have detrimental effects on health, therefore students should not be forced to watch television for long time. Watching screen for the longer duration can have adverse impacts on the eye of a viewer and the addiction of same result into negative consequence only. For illustration, according to the survey of health department of USA, around 20 percent of eye problems are genetic and remaining 80 percent are affected by watching television for longer duration.

In conclusion, although, watching television for the learning purpose is profitable for the learner, however, the drawbacks can result into damage of vision. Hence I believe that the television as a source of study is beneficial to some extent only.