As computers are being used more and more in education, there will be soon no role for teachers in the classroom. To what extent do you agree

Computer is fast becoming an indispensable teaching tool in the education sector. The burgeoning demand to cut class time and increase efficiency in learning has encouraged the use of computers. It seemed rational to envisage the total overhaul of teachers in the class room for computers someday. This argument in my candid opinion will not be able to hold water because of the intricacies of certain engaging course subject and a whole lot of distractions posed by the internet.

The introduction of computer-based-education system marked a moment of epiphany in this sector.There were advancements in online classes, exams and even certifications via computer. This approach did not only reduced cost of attending lectures physically but it also saved time and stress encountered in an on-campus classes. This trend craved for one fervid question; 'Why not computerize the whole education system?. On the contrary, the computer based model is only limited to few courses like public health, business administration and few others, where its successes were renowned while other courses like health sciences, engineering and agricultural sciences are more inclined to a practical based education system. These sciences deal mainly on practical issues with the supervisors in hand to perfect the skills student learns. Practices actually makes perfect. Delicate subjects like incision in surgery cannot be possibly taught online or learnt via you tube without a practical handler insight to tutor medical students. Therefore, a face to face contact must be ensured there for efficient transmission of knowledge from the teacher to students. This practical approach will serve as the major downturn to the complete installation of computers as teacher in the near future.

Furthermore, the internet is widely known as a recreational apparatus and it is rigged with junks that serve as a source of distraction to students. Social media sites like Facebook and twitter are currently the most visited sites in the world, with larger chunk of the visitors young people of school age. It is rather inevitable to neglect this fact as research in recent year have shown online graduates ranking low in the list of candidates with employable skills. Considering this factor, efforts were made to encourage students to attend classes on campus than online.

To sum up, computer based form of education presents a class act approach to the transmission of knowledge but will not be able to completely phase out teaching in class because of the more pragmatic approach of teaching some technical courses and also plethora forms of distractions that accompany online learning.