The computers are widely used in education and some people think that teachers do not play an important role in the classroom. To what extent do you agree?

There is a controversial issue about the place of teachers in computerized education. Some computer scientists state that computers are capable to displace the primacy of teachers in schools. In this essay, I disagree with the their point of view.

Let us start with reasons why computer scientists argue that computers can take the role of teachers. The first reason is that computer programs are more flexible to changes in school curriculum. It usually takes teachers many weeks to alter their teaching methods, if the head department decides to modify school syllabus, but education software can do it in a minute. Another reason is that they are available to students online. In contrast to humans, who are mostly unapproachable after work, computer programs can both answer to any questions and give lectures again to students after classes. As a result, computers are more convenient for managers as well as students, who have neither attended a class or learned a material well.

However, some tutors believe that computers are unable to compete with teachers in classrooms. They justify their opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, computers cannot find unique approaches to students with different perceptual abilities. Many students fail to understand what software teaches, since each student has different abilities in education, but human instructors can see this difference and find another method to convey information. Secondly, teachers need no connection to either the Internet or electricity power. Computers will not operate in isolated environments, such as rural areas, where electricity blackout happens frequently, and the web is not always accessible. Therefore, computers are incapable to replace teachers because of its physical imperfection.

In conclusion, even though some computer scientists advocate that computers can take the role of teachers in education, I think that they cannot fully substitute them even in the next century for the above mentioned reasons.