Crime is a big problem in the world; many believe that nothing can be done to prevent it. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion

With the volume of crimes increasing globally. it is often believed that we cannot prevent it by taking any precautionary measures. this essay disagrees with this opinion as the number of can be reduced with the government providing better security measures and educating everyone about it.

Firstly, many of the crime records are observed in areas where there is a presence of low security and the victims in most cases are those who are vulnerable such as children, women and older people. Deploying more police personnel and installation of CCTV cameras will make such places secure and also raise a fear among those intending to commit crimes in those areas. In a recent survey performed, it was found that the presence of cctv cameras in a locality has reduced the number of untoward incidents happening in those places.

Secondly, we can reach out to those who might be involved in smaller offences and make them understand the repercussions of committing the crime. All over the world, individual countries can take measures to provide better education facilities and basic amenities to everyone. Additionally, counselling and job opportunities can be provided to those involved in petty offences which will in turn prevent them from getting involved in other criminal once again. it was found in a longitudinal study done over a period of 10 years in a locality notorious for many criminals, it was found that those provided with counselling and employment opportunities mostly did not get themselves in criminal activities when compared to those that did not.

To conclude, the crime rate can be reduced or prevented by taking many precautionary steps of better security and educating those who are more prone to commit crimes.