Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

Although bicycles of course are more eco-friendly transportation option than cars, not many people around the world use them to commute. There are some underlying reasons such as either the dearth of appropriate cycling route or personal reluctance. However, there are different feasible solutions that can be taken to address this issue.

To begin with, perhaps the main reason why cycling is unpopular in many countries is the fact that there are not suitable cycling route. Obviously, cycling could be less secure mode of transportation if cyclists are expected to ride in highways or streets. This would discourage people from bicycling. Secondly, thanks to the modern technological advancements which trigger a sedentary lifestyle, laziness of people is another deterrent that hinder the popularity of cycling. Not only young generation but also elderly people, nowadays, would rather use other modes of transportation such as metro or trains, since they are more convenient and faster.

Turning to measures, probably, educating people about the positive effects of cycling both on the environment and on the physical and mental health of residents is the most effective solution. If public awareness about possible benefits raise, they may prefer to ride bicycles rather than their private cars or other vehicles, therefore, the popularity of cycling might increase significantly. Furthermore, providing enough and safe routes, all around the cities, is expected to play a vital role to ensure people about the possible dangerous, consequently, the popularity of cycling will increase.

Finally, implement of some policies such as offering more social benefits would create incentives and stimulate people to use bicycles. For example, discount on recreational activities like concert tickets may encourage citizens, especially the youngsters, to ride bicycles.

In conclusion, despite all mentioned reasons, there are some feasible solutions including educational programmers and providing appropriate rotes to encourage people using bicycle as a transportation mode.