Demand for gas and oil is increasing and so finding new sources in remote and untouched areas is a necessity.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is claimed that the globa demand for gas and oil is quickly increasing and some people believe that this should be met by encouraging the exploitation of remote areas. This essay will closely analyse advantage and disadvantge of this suggestion and ultimately conclude that the drawbacks of it outweigh the potential benefits.

On the one hand, this can be beneficial for a number of reasons. Firstly, it can provide more energy for the world, which is especially important for developing coutries where these energies are scarce. Secondly, it also boots enconomy of coutries where the recourses are located. For example, the exploitation of new energies of Middle East has allowed for the creation of thousands of new jobs, which has provided an economic boost for the region.

On the other hand, there are many problems with exploiting remote and untouched location. The first reason is that it can damage environment, as it destroys pristine habitats and ecosystems. For instance, an area which countries would like to drill is the Antarctic, home to many glaciers and animals such as polar bears and penguins. Drilling here would harm the habitat, and in particular, any spillages would be disastrous to the environment. Moreover, due to health issues and global warming we should no longer be seeking to use such forms of energy. It is evident that the use of these fuels on a wide-scale has led to the pollution of many cities and the subsequent poor health of its citizens where car use is so high.

In conclusion, Although finding energies like gas and oil in remote areas has some benefits, the negatives outweigh this as we will destroy that environment as well as continue to harm the environment. our health and the planet.