With the development of social media more and more youngsters are being allowed unsupervised access to the internet in order to meet and chat with friends which can lead to potentially dangerous situations. What solutions do you suggest to deal with this problem.

Many adolescents land themselves in troublesome situations due to free and easy access to the different social media platforms from where they get a chance to connect with their friends and even strangers. The most viable solution to overcome this problem is supervised internet access and provision of smartphones only after they turn 18.

Due to the advancements in technology internet is now freely available and easily accessible even to the young hence this has to be supervised. Youngsters must be allowed to access the web only for educational purpose and for a limited time frame. Comsequently, they would not get a chance to get into any kind of social media interaction with their friends or unknown people. For example, I was allowed to use internet only for one hour if I required it for my school work and was not given a phone until I was no more a teenager.

Another solution to this predicament is strict or no usage of Smartphones by children and teenagers. Smartphone is the source that paves way to the world of social media applications like Facebook Instagram through which youngsters connect with other. Moreover, due to their immaturity they get into problems like being blackmailed for money. Therefore to avoid such cases parents must not allowed the use of Smartphones by their kids at least until their completion of High School. This is why kids are banned from getting phones to the school in most places in India.

In conclusion internet access by youngsters under strict parental supervision and minimal or no utilisation of Smartphones will lead to reduced number of youngsters being victims of the crimes due to advanced social media platforms.