With the development of social media more and more youngsters are being allowed unsupervised to access to the internet in order to meet and chat with their friends which can lead to potentially dangerous situations What solutions can you suggest to deal w

Social networking has become an integral part of everyone’s daily life, including youngsters’ these days. Since it is practically impossible to control the access to content on the internet, many people have faced serious problems. This essay will address the root causes and potential solutions to such issues.

Firstly, since internet, social media in particular, is part of life since young age, it is important for kids to get educated about the internet. It is the responsibility of parents and schools to teach how one should behave responsibly in the internet and benefit out of it. For example, many schools these days are trying to educate the students about the advantages and potential threats of the internet by organizing lectures by experts in the industry and law enforcement agencies. Even though this would help the students get a basic idea of internet, it doesn’t address the students of younger and elder students as per their level of understanding. It is essential for schools to add internet as a topic in the curriculum at different grades, which would in particular address the issue for students in different age groups.

Secondly, it is necessary for parents to keep a track of whom their kids are meeting in the outside world. It is very common nowadays for people to make friends online. Though, this helps kids to meet people from different backgrounds which could possibly help them diversify their circle of friends, there is no denying that they could be lured by negative elements of the society. In case of any suspicion, it is necessary for parents to report to the cyber crime authorities immediately. In countries like India, such incidents are common on a daily basis where kids and women are attracted and trapped by some people on the internet, when met physically turn out to be a case of kidnapping, rape or even murder.

To conclude, it is the collective responsibility of the society to keep the internet safe and at the same time to keep an eye on their kids and make sure they reap benefits out of the internet and not fall prey to it.