Employer sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these view and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the employer’s benefit of requiring applicants’ personal information, such as hobbies and interests or marital status. While some people claim this information is irrelevant and useless, I believe that there are more benefits of collecting this data for employer in recruiting decision than drawbacks.

On the one hand, employers need more than just the professional information to assess their prospective candidates. The primary advantage is helping the company select the best-fit candidates for a vacation. For instance, several applications may be deemed fit for the place based on their qualification and work history. However, this place that requires travelling often to various company’s branches over the country will not good-fit for married people because of their marital commitment. Moreover, with increasing emphasis on collaborate working culture, collecting extracurricular and personal information will help the employer choose the employee that fit into common characteristics of other team members. This choice maybe reduce internal conflict, increase the outcome of the team as well as the company and therefore improve employee retention rate.

On the other hand, many of those who disagree with this argument doubt the authenticity of such information provided in the job applications. Because this is personal information, there are unable to cross check for accuracy. They believe that the job applicants tend to make up some hobbies and interests just to impress the employers. According to a survey conducted by a student group from Foreign Trade University, only 40% of the respondents gave genuine answers when asked about their extracurricular interests.

In conclusion, I would argue that collecting personal information is beneficial for the employer in decision-making. The more information company gathers about applicants, the better the recruitment will be.