Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that disclosure of personal information is advantageous or disadvantageous. Sometimes, candidates, the personal information helps employers analysis a candidate whereas some people this such information can be misleading.

Frist let's discuss why personal information can be a boon to employers. There are many factors that can be analysed by understanding candidates likes, dislikes, and marital status. For example, many companies these days have made it mandatory to undergo their candidates' psychometric tests apart from technical skills examinations. This has aided organisation to hire genuine profiles.

As every coin has two sides, similarly every thought has two different aspects, one positive and another negative. Revealing such sensitive details can also lead to discrimination. Some personnel might scrutinize the profiles based on whether they are married or unmarried. Unmarried women can have better chances of getting jobs compared to married females.

Caste or religion could be another factor of such perception. Hobbies could be analysed in a wrong way such as playing video games, enjoy trekking, singing, etc. The person could be judged based on their likings and dislikings which can lead to incorrect hiring.

In my opinion, sharing personal information while face to face interview is the best ice-breaker. Hence such information should be shared when the role applied for demands. Although it should not be a mandate to mention in the curriculum vitae.