Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single.Some People say that this information may be relevant and useful.Others disagree.Discuss both these view

Employers seeking applicant private information like hobbies and interest including marital status has become a trend nowadays. Many people believe that it can be beneficial to provide this kind of details, However, others do not agree the same. Let us examine both sides of the argument followed by my point of view.

First of all, Candidate being married or not plays a vital role in deciding whether he/she is fit for the type of vacancy. For instance, one of my friends applied for chief security officer but interviewer rejected him as the job required late night shifts which can be difficult for him due to personal commitments. Secondly, People with leisure activities like sports, arts, dance are more creative, enthusiastic and active. Thus, can be more physically and mentally sound. Take an example, a person who involved in gymming and sports would be able to perform better in army jobs.

On the other hand, the interviewer can discriminate aspirant on the basis of his interest. For example, if the candidate is passionate about cricket and interviewer is not then it may increase the chances of rejection. In addition, personal data like marital status can mislead or give the wrong perception like a divorcee or single mother may be judged inappropriately irrespective of their capability. Let me give an example, My friend, raising a child alone and due to this factor was not selected for a marriage counsellor position.

From my perspective, as general interest and likings reflect in ones' personality, hence it will make easy for an organisation to choose the correct candidate for the position available. Also, they can select the single or married person as per the job demands. However, the organization should keep in mind to not discriminate anyone against these personal data and give capability more credibility while selecting.