Essay: Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

In today’s hectic world, we see people ordering food at different restaurants according to their taste buds. Ordering the food in bulk without considering the actual amount of food required for their consumption is a new trend resulting in waste. They are not only wasting food but also the natural resources and they are unaware about the consequences related to this wastage. Initiating take away facility at every restaurant can minimize the spoilage of food. This way it would encourage people to utilize the same food at their home or workplace.

One of the major reasons behind the above trend is that people are not conscious about their eating capacity, they just order the food in excess as everything in the menu is so appealing that give rise to wastage. To illustrate, at the end of day lots of food is dumped after parties and functions are over. Lack of awareness about the depletion of resources is another cause of wastage.

To overcome this problem, restaurant owner should take initiative of providing boxes or carry bags to take out the leftover food to home. For instance, one restaurant in Toronto have put quotes related to the wastage on each dining table, which encourage people not to leave the food and they provide proper packaging facility to take food to home. Lastly an easy step that could be put into practice is that people should try to donate the leftover food from their family functions, events etc. to the needy people. Every Individual has to understand their responsibility towards the nation and government should start organizing some workshops or seminars to raise awareness among people that is immensely important.

To encapsulate, it can be concluded that in present scenario food wastage is an underrated issue which instead is a serious concern for the world. People should change their mindset and should value food; restaurant owners should make certain efforts to reduce the wastage since it is the place from where this issue originates.