In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level.

Discuss both the viewpoints and give your opinion.

In today's generation with the increase in competition and demanding nature of company’s employees are being paid with good salaries. While there are people who hold a popular belief that giving extremely high package to the individual should be avoided by the government, others think that it is not wrong to provide competitive wage to the employee. As both viewpoints have merits, I tend to believe that minimum and maximum wage should be fixed by higher authorities after considering responsibilities of different jobs.

Those who advocate this providing salary is beneficial for nation, argue that it increases the satisfaction level of people and then they give their 100% to do the job. To exemplify, Last year one of the company in Toronto did a survey and find that people are still not satisfy with their salary, although that company provides a quite competitive wage as compared to other rivals that results in dissatisfaction of the employees. So, salary is the major factor which contributes in the happiness of workforce and is a positive sign for the country.

Others, however, myself included, do not support this prominent belief. Leaders of the country should fix a starting wage and the maximum wage. Of course, one should be paid higher according to the ability, skills and the level of job difficulty. Variation should not be very high, such as a general labor worker is being paid 14$ per hour and on the other hand an engineer is paid 80-90$ per hour. This inequality lead to the comparison in between people and may give birth to so many health-related issues such as depression and anxiety among low income level people.

In conclusion, it will be wrong to neglect any of the viewpoints as both the statements are true as such, and both have their own benefits. The optimal solution would be to pay according to the skills and responsibilities required to complete that particular job.