Essay topics: Some people think that parents should teach children how to
be good members of society.
Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.
Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.
School plays a vital role in building children’s personality and overall development. As a result, many
people claim that besides academics progress, it is also the responsibility of a teacher that he helps
the student to distinguish between good and bad things. However, I believe that both parents and
teachers should have equal role in moulding a child.
It is indeed true that teachers are second parents of students thus, they can help in many ways. |It is
undeniable fact that today’s parents have hactic schedule due to which they have little time to
observe their wards. Hence, such group of people put all burden to school as are investing hefty
amounts on fees. Also, schools offer a wide range of horizon to explore, where students interact
their peers, and simultaneously develop several skills such as competition and cooperation to
achieve their goals, they might adopt wrong ways, causing negative consequences not only for
themselves but also for others. Therefore, a teacher can guide his or her pupil in an effective manner
during school hours.
Nonetheless, parents always come first in teaching moral values to their children. Despite having
responsible their ward’s behaviour towards individual or society. In addition to this, guardians
should always set good examples before children since they learn many habits from their home. For
instance, if a parent always respect his or her own elders then children tend to follow him or her.
Thereby, they also give respect and love to their grandparents, which will oblige them to be behave
in a good manner to others as well.
To summarise, it is obvious that parents should teach their wards social values and about right or
wrong. In my opinion, both schools and guardians must shoulder their responsibility equally in order
to inculcate moral skills in children so that they can become productive members of our nation.