Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to change this negative attitude towards international tourism?

Over the past few decades, the overseas tours have been promoting due to certain reasons across the globe. Some people are of the opinion that this encouragement in the tourism sector has an adverse impact on a host country and they argue that it needs to be discouraged for many reasons. From my perspective, by knowing the cause for this negative behaviour of people towards this trend, we can

take necessary steps to ameliorate the situation.

The opponents assert that such growing trend is bad for their culture. This is because travelers often do not know and learn the visiting country's rituals and customs before planning their trips thus they might disrespect and hurts sentiments of the local crowd associated with their culture and religion. For instance, some parts of the world such as India and Pakistan have stringent religious rules if someone failed to follow then it could lead to a legal tussle between natives and tourists, according to the sources, causing disturb the peace and cultural harmony of a nation.

Another reason is the environmental hazards that come with this tourism sector. It is irrefutable that visitors cause waste production in form of litter and harmful substance, which can be seriously threatened by too many travellers. It is evident that many a times visitors do not follow the norms set by the national authorities and tourist industries to keep the environment clean and green, polluting the historical buildings, monuments and natural flora and fauna. Therefore, such contaminated places might not attract more tourists, impacting the local community economically.

Even though the opponents have valid points in their support, however, governments and tourism management need to take some crucial measures to bring changes in the attitude of such group of folks. Higher agencies need to create awareness among local people about the benefits of international tourism by generating multiple job opportunities in this sector, thereby, improving the financial status of natives. Also, the government should work out on the waste management policies by involving citizens and tourist’s authorities to keep the tourist's attraction clean and green, leading to attract more visitors to such places.

To recapitulate, I pen down saying that international tourism may create some adverse effects due to lack of cultural awareness and absence of strict rules in the tourism sector, nonetheless, we can reap several benefits from this development. On balance, I am convinced that both the government and tourism industry could change the perspectives of native people by taking adequate measures thus improve the situation.