Every country has poor people and every country has different ways of dealing with the poor. What are some of the reasons for world poverty? How can the poor be helped?

People living under the poverty line of a country are classified as poor. This line is different for different countries and all nations have varied methods of handling their underprivileged citizens. In this essay, I would be explaining the possible factors that contribute to poverty conditions and measures that can be taken to assist the poor.

Every country, no matter how affluent, has groups of people who live in poverty. While there are a plethora of reasons for this developments, one of the major factors is the illiteracy. Lack of proper education results in limited resources, jobs and therefore, money. Furthermore, poverty-stricken areas breed other vices such as corruption, crimes and other illegal activities. Another reason for poverty in some nations could be wars. Waring nations often deplete their nation’s resources by focusing on the war. This, in turn, leads to lower standards of living for its citizens.

As an attempt to reduce poverty, developed nations could lend a helping hand to their underprivileged counterparts. Alternatively, developing nations plagued with high poverty rates could improve diplomatic relationships with developed nations. Furthermore, nations should focus their national income on developing better education systems and thereby increase the literacy rate. This would automatically create the awareness required and boost the country's economy. Under-developed countries with overpopulation could educate their countrymen about the negative effects of over-population and merits of birth control.

In conclusion, poverty is attributed to the frequent wars, overpopulation and illiteracy. These problems may seem overwhelming but countries should consider poverty as a serious problem and take measures to rectify it.