Every one of us should become a vegetarian because eating meat can cause serious health problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Owing to the possible health risks eating meat might cause, there is a notion that everybody ought to become vegetarians. Although it cannot be denied that vegetable is important to good health, eating considerate amount of meat is beneficial to the body. For this reason, I tend to partially agree with the idea, and will therefore examine both views in this essay.

Admittedly, consuming vegetables maybe advantageous to health in some ways. First and foremost, from the digestion perspective, some individuals occasionally suffer from digestive problems, for instance gas and diarrhoea which may lead to serious health issue. In order to prevent this problem, eating vegetable may be a good measure to take. Another significant impact of vegetable in the body relates to metabolism. By eating vegetables regularly, the metabolism rate of the body increases which facilitates burning of calories. This is usually prescribed by some health workers to majority of patients suffering from excess calories in order to reduce their fat tendencies. So, vegetable is essential to health.

Likewise, meat, which is rich in protein, can provide some nutrients to the body. For example, it serves as fuel source to the body tissue by providing as much energy density as carbohydrates. By doing this, the brain often relies on its nutrients to function, perhaps, properly. Despite this benefit, if meat is consumed in excess, the probability of gaining weight will be increased which might be an unfavorable condition.

In conclusion, it is clear that not only does vegetable aids digestion, but it also metabolizes the body. However, in spite of the energy meat enriches the body with, it may cause overweight. Therefore, I think being a vegetarian is good, but if meat can be consumed moderately, the detrimental effect will be reduced.