Experts say older people were happier and healthier in the past because they did more exercise and spent more time with family and friends whereas many now suffer from loneliness and health problems What are the causes of this and what are some solutions

One school of thought holds that the elderly were cheerful and robust as they were physically active and used to spend a lot of time with their loved ones, while both their mental and physical health have been on the wane nowadays. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this negative tendency before outlining several viable solutions that should be adopted to tackle it.

There are two primary reasons as to why senior citizens not solely suffer from medical issues but also feel more lonely. First and foremost, there is a huge lack of open spaces in modern life. This is because these days people focus on extending the buildings while narrowing public areas such as parks or recreational areas which could cause the elder generation to tend to spend most of their time at home either watching television or reading books. Therefore, they are very likely to suffer from health problems such as cardiovascular or high blood pressure, due to increased secondary time. Another underlying motive is in modern society, most people are occupied with their jobs.

To be more specific, hectic work schedules are depriving people of the time spent with family which act as a precursor to spending increasingly less family time with the elderly.

To combat this worrying issue, the following essential steps should be taken. The first measure is that state officials should allocate government funding for building recreational structures such as park which has a wide range of shaded-giving trees. Older residents would be able to enjoy going for a stroll in this park, and this also could help them to communicate with each other and lead to bestowing enormous benefits upon on healthy life. Another remedy is campaigns that raise public awareness about serious repercussions, especially leading to a deterioration in elderly’mental health should be intensified. Once the offspring is aware of the adverse consequences of insufficient time for the family, they would be nudged toward spending more time for the family.

In conclusion, there are several underlying motives to blame for this negative development, and it is crucial that the aforementioned measures be implemented to deal with this issue.