Families who send their children to private school should not be required to pay taxes that support the state education system. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, federal support for education has become common for developed countries. Some people believe that families should not give taxes to help the state education system if they send their children to private schools. This essay will completely agree with the view.

One of the key reasons why families ought not give financial support to the federal education system while sending their children to privately owned institutions is that those families are unlikely to avail help for their children. Usually, people voluntarily give taxes to federal funds for education if they avail the government’s support for their own children’s education. Therefore, families should not offer financial support for the local education system since they send their children to private schools instead of public institutions. To illustrate, parents in Malaysia are free from the mandate to pay education taxes if their children are admitted into private schools.

Another significant rationale in favor of this view is that not paying taxes for the state education system will possibly reduce the expenditure burden. In most cases, paying both federal taxes for education and the cost of private schools are expected to mount pressure on the expenditure budget of families. As a result, while sending their children to private schools, families should not donate state taxes to support the education system to lessen the burden of their expenses. For instance, in Hong Kong, both education taxes and the average yearly cost of private schools account about 30% of the per capita income of a family.

In conclusion, I completely agree with the view that families should not education taxes while sending their children to private institutions as they do not obtain federal support for their children’s education and want to reduce the expenditure pressure. In reality, education taxes can be mandatory for those who intend to avail of government support for education.