Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general.

These days, people are spending less time on their hobbies. There is a reason for this practice. In my opinion, I believe spending no time to pursue leisure activities is disadvantageous to both people and the society.

Firstly, people are unable to spare time for leisure activities because of a hectic work schedule at their offices. In other words, People are compelled to work for longer hours owing to though competition at work. Competition at work pushes them to work hard in order to outdo their colleagues and secure their positions at work. Therefore, people do not have enough time to spare and spend on their hobbies.

This practice negatively impact people's' well-being. After a long day at work, when people are not left with much time to be spent on their hobbies, they are more likely to develop psychological disorders like depression and anxiety. In other words, hobbies help people to channelize their frustration constructively, helps to relieve stress of their minds, and keep them calm and happy. For instance, after a long busy day at work, I like to go out for long walks while listening to the music at same time. this practice helps me to forget worries at work, rejuvenate me, and better prepare myself for the next day at work. When people of a society are not happy psychologically, they cannot contribute to the progress of that society in any way.

In conclusion,both hectic work schedule and though competition at work do not allow people to spare time for their hobbies. In my opinion, this practice has detrimental effects on the for the well-being of individuals and to the progress of a society.