Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Indubitably, in today's world, a certain number of people eluding from their hobbies. In this essay, I will shed a light that why modern people are staying away from their leisure interests along with their effects on society as well as an individual.

Apparently, with the advent of digitalization and the technological world, the world has become a single entity. And, with such kind of modernization, the standard of living has gone high, and to maintain this kind of living, people have become workaholics. These workers have to work for extra hours to earn extra wages besides their daily, weekly, or monthly bread and butter income. Apart from this, they have a small time of hours left to spend with their loved ones such as family, friends, and relatives on certain occasions. Therefore, these workaholics have to sacrifice their hobbies like doing exercises, sports, gardening, music, and many more. This resulted in poor health and lifestyle.

Moreover, if there is an imbalance between work and life, this would lead to sickly employees, and thereby their productivity will be decline by taking regular sick leaves. The firm, where these sick workers will be working, would be at loss for providing health and care insurance. At the same time, the health department in a firm will be put under strain. Furthermore, at present, in the case of young adults, they tend to spend more time on their academics rather than on leisure activities due to the burden of homework and studies. This could affect a child's performance in his personal well-being and professional career.

In conclusion, giving more importance to one's hobbies has a great effect on the "work and life" balance as an outcome always reflects back to the household, to the company, and the community as a whole. As the quote says "Never get so busy making a living that you forget to live a happy life".