Getting promotions is one of the biggest drives for people to apply themselves and work hard in the modern workplace. Why do you think people are so driven to get promotion? what other factors influence people to work hard.

As per the recent media report, since last 5 years 25% of the organisations promote most of their staff annauly. It is believed that people feel motivated to perform well at the work in order to earn a promotion. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss why people put efforts to get promoted and other element that inspires the employees to work better.

The main reason that makes workers very motivated to get promotion is an increase in the salary. This is to say that, after promotion the person can make more money from the same job instead of changing their job to get a pay raise. Hence, people thrive to get promoted to have more financially stable life. In a survery conducted by Harvard University, it was found that 80% of the people who get promoted often never get into a financial debt.

However, a positive work environment also plays a big role to inspire people to use their full potential at work. This is because, when a person's work contribution is cherished it develops their will power to produce more good results. Hence, when worker's efforts will be noticed by their team mates or manager it will encourage them to work more to maintain their positive image. According to a research done by Toronto University, it was found that workers who were treated well at work always completed their targets before the deadline.

To conclude, most of the people feel drived to perform well at work to get a promotion as it will reward them with an opportunity to earn more money. However, other work elements like a pleasant workplace atmosphere also inspires working people to perform better because it polishes their will power. I always work with full spirits to get promoted but I also perform well when my boss applauds my work consistently.