Global warming is one of the biggest threats humans face in the 21st century and sea levels are continuing to rise at alarming rates What problems are associated with this and what are the possible solutions

The modern world is experiencing numerous natural threats due to global warming, which has resulted in a dramatical increase in ocean levels. This essay will first suggest that the biggest problem caused by this phenomenon is the flooding of homes and submit building flood protection as the most viable solution.

Flooding of residences is a critical issue that affects coastal areas, where millions of people all over the world reside. Increase of sea level, even by few inches, would result in submergence of their homes as well as property damages. Shelter is one of the most basic needs of humans and widespread flooding would cause millions of people to become homeless. These devastating impacts, for instance, was clear for all to see during the 2011 Tsunami in Sri Lanka, in which thousands of families were displaced, not to mention the lost possessions.

A possible solution to this problem would be to build flood barriers. Defences against floods such as drainage systems, dams and floodgates could be installed along the coasts, thereby preventing the water from reaching populated areas. Drainage systems, in particular, will have to be maintained regularly, in order to confirm functionality. For example, Japan, having a prime vulnerable coastal area, has implemented several of these flood defences with successful results.

To conclude, coastal flooding is a severe issue the world is facing due to the increased global temperature, which will ultimately lead to many cities being left underwater. However, the ceaseless rising of sea levels could be curbed to a certain extent with the utilization of floodgates.