Some people prefer renting than buying a home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting your home?

Choosing accommodation is a major decision, with the rapidly increasing housing prices. Some believe renting as a solution for this market inflation. While it is an optimum solution for someone who plans to relocate, there will be few disadvantageous to be dealt with.

One of the best advantages of living in a rented house is that one can relocate to another place easily since the only bond they have with the place is a contract. For example, if the resident gets a new job opportunity in another city, or even in another country, he can pack his furniture and simply move out. On the contrary, it will not be feasible for a homeowner to move, mainly because the property would require to be either sold or rented, according to the financial status of him. Not only this is a tedious task, but a very time-consuming activity too, due to legal obligations and mortgages.

Even though renting has its own perks, there are some downsides of this that affect some renters. Firstly, landlords might not allow any modifications to the property according to the residents’ wishes. This will be a disadvantage for some, who wants to change their living space time-to-time. Secondly, there will be regular home inspections by the owner to check up on their upkeep. This might be a nuisance for the people who do not like to be disturbed. In Canada, for instance, a bylaw was implemented in 1977 to control unexpected visits from the property owner, requiring them to inform at least 24 hours before the inspection.

Rented accommodations are beneficial for people who move frequently and do not want to make commitments to a single place.