The most effective way to solve traffic and transport problems in the cities is to encourage people from suburbs or the countryside to live in the cities To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some people believe that persuading people is suburban areas and countryside to settle in the cities is the most viable option for solving city traffic and transportation problems. This essay completely disagrees with the above statement. Firstly, this proposal will affect negatively on the present state due to the increased vehicle usage and secondly, living in the cities is more expensive.

Urbanization is the prime reason for increased traffic congestion in the major cities and encouraging more people to move in will not be a solution but a disaster. Residents will require more vehicles to complete their daily tasks and responsibilities since most of the people fancy personal automobiles. Moreover, people from different age groups seeking to travel together will also add more to the congestion. For example, New York suffering from hours of traffic jams due to excessive population. Even though there are good public transportation services, 60 percent of New Yorkers use personal vehicles which have made the governors consider banning cars.

Cost of living in a city is expensive but convenient, whereas it is cheaper in the countryside. Because of the high demand for accommodations, rentals are almost double in urban areas. In addition to that, all the utilities cost more, and taxes are higher. Country people might not be able to afford the additional costs added up with their moving charges. Facing the new environment with less financial stability will deteriorate their quality of life even if this solution addresses the traffic problem.

In conclusion, encouraging the public to live in the cities would not help in addressing traffic and transportation woes since more people utilize more vehicles and the fact that cities not being affordable to everyone.