In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is argued that governments should levy a tariff on junk food because lots of health risks are associated with consuming this kind of food. This essay agrees that a higher rate of tax should be paid by fast-food companies. Firstly, higher taxes would lower the consumption due to high prices and secondly, the same approach is used with alcohol and tobacco products.

Increasing taxes would raise prices and lower consumption. Fast food companies would pass these additional taxes to consumers in the form of higher prices and this would lead people to not being able to afford junk food because it is too expensive. Junk food would soon become a luxurious item and it would only be consumed occasionally, which would be less harmful to the general public health. For instance, the price of organic food has proven prohibitively expensive for most of the people and resulted in only a small percentage of population buying them regularly.

Higher excise on liquor and tobacco has proven to be successful at curbing the harm caused by them, which acts as a penalty to producers as well as buyers. The revenue generated by this has been used not only to treat health problems associated with these products but also in awareness campaigns warning people about the dangers of alcohol and tobacco abuse. Tax from fast food could be used in the same manner. The United Kingdom is a prime example where money from smokers is used in the treatment of cancer and heart diseases.

In conclusion, junk food should be taxed at a higher rate because the increased cost would reduce the amount of consumption and the fact that liquor and tobacco are taxed in the same way.