Governments should be responsible for funding and controlling scientific research rather than private organizations.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the government ought to take responsibility for the financial and management control of scientific research rather than private institutions. I am absolutely in support of this notion because of its astronomical cost and public safety.

To begin with, scientific research works are often expensive and may not yield profit. Usually, these research projects are a huge risk which not only cost much, but also may not bring desired outcome. This can be evidenced by the frequent research reports the Daily newspaper in Nigeria releases every third quarter of the year which show about 68% of unsuccessful research projects throughout the country. In this situation, while the government might not entirely run at loss, the private sector might encounter a credit crunch.

Furthermore, the safety of the public would be guaranteed. Clearly, the government's primary concern is the safety of the people whereas the sole aim of almost every private entity is profit. So, since the government have the interest of the nation at heart, any project that might cause a damage to the population would not be carried out regardless of the voluminous amount of fund invested. For instance, in 2011, the Federal Government of Nigeria disbanded several science institutions that posed some problems to the environment. If the government had not intervened, and the entire operation was controlled by the private sector, the public may not have been saved.

In conclusion, not only does the government have abundant resources to finance the astronomical cost of scientific research, they also prioritize the well-being of the people. For these reasons, I completely agree that it should be the responsibility of the government to finance and control the scientific research.