Having more money and less free time is better than earning less money and having more free time. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

There is an issue about the balance between income and spare time. Some sociologists argue that people should concentrate on big salaries regardless of the leisure time scarcity, while others think that spare time is more valuable than big wages. This essay will discuss both opinions and agree with the idea of the value of spare time.

Let us start with the reasons why some sociologists claim that earning more but possessing less leisure time is more beneficial. The first reason is that it provides a high standard of living. People with large salaries can afford a big house, a car as well as go on holidays once a year, so that they never think about living poverty. Another cause is that middle-class people can deposit more money for retirement. Workers with high income can secure a comfortable old age, when they have paid all the bills. Furthermore, earning a high wage allow people to support relatives. They may make a financial backing to their, for example, either parents or siblings when they experience difficulties.

However, other sociologists argue that working a lot for better salary is less important than having more free time. They justify this point of view by the following arguments. First of all, people have more enjoyable time with the family. Workaholics often suffer from shortage of time devoted to their children, while those, who are less obsessed with work, are delighted at the balance of work and family life, no matter how much they could earn income. Secondly, it allows people to do other activities as part of daily routine. Parents, who spend less time at work, can do other things, such as going to the gym and decorating the apartments. Finally, it enables people to travel around the world. Employees with temporary jobs can plan more interesting holidays in other parts of the globe.

In conclusion, although some sociologists advocate the idea of sacrificing free time for gaining larger incomes, I think that people should enjoy their life rather than have a complete commitment to work.