Health care should not be provided for free regardless of a person's income. The health of a person is in their own hands and they should, therefore, be held accountable for that.

Do you agree with this opinion?

It is often believed that health is a private matter for an individual, so they should be responsible for paying for their health care. Although I agree with the statement to a certain extent because health problems are mainly because of their sedentary lifestyle, I still think that government is also responsible for health care because all people cannot afford it.

Firstly, on the one hand, health problems are mainly caused by irresponsible habits. That is to say that, increase in the amount of junk food intake, alcohol, and smoking habits are responsible for many issues such as obesity, asthma, and diabetes. Even though the majority of the people know about the problem it can create, still they display thoughtless behaviour and as a result, increase in government burden. To illustrate, a survey conducted by an organization, British Healthcare, and Welfare Society, on 2000 candidates who used to smoke, revealed that slightly more than 75% of people know that it is bad for health, but they still indulge themselves in smoking. By the result of this experiment, it is safe to say that people should be responsible for their deeds.

On the other hand, a free medical system should be a basic human right. Nevertheless to mention that many ailments are passing on to generations through genes and which they are not directly responsible for such as cancer, salivary gland deceases, and HIV. Apart from that, one big medical bill is enough to do sink all savings for most of the families in any given country, due to costly treatments. For instance, a very common cancer, genetic of mutation which is pass through genes have simple chemotherapy session take around 2000$ whereas people have average income is around 2100$ monthly. Therefore, government responsibility cannot be denied in the medical help.

To conclude, though I agree with the scenario because many people are responsible for their poor health, I think authority have equal responsibility for bearing the cost of treatment for its public because many people could not afford the treatment and not everyone is directly responsible for their bad health.