Housing shortage in big cities can cause severe social consequences. Some people believe that only government actions can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree?

Over the last half-century, there has been a rapid growth in the number of people relocating to urban areas and this has resulted to scarcity of accommodations. While some people opine that the only way to solve this global problem is through government intervention, I am strongly inclined to agree with them.

To begin with, the main reason for housing problems in city centers is overpopulation as a result of high influx of job seekers looking for greener pastures. Therefore, if offices are made to relocate from the urban areas to the outskirts, more and more people will have no other option but to migrate to rural areas. Now, this can only be achieved through government intervention. The typical process is that the government will delineate an undeveloped or poorly planned area outside the city centers and construct new houses and offices alongside gardens, parks, and social amenities. Once these projects are completed, they can house thousands of residents affordably, which allows occupants to find quality jobs easily and move out from the cities.

Nonetheless, even though the influx of people into the city areas are under control, houses need to be built for residents who already live and work in the cities. Again, only the government can stop large real estates or profit-making construction firms from building large houses that could replace smaller ones and escalate the already existing housing crises. For example, in Abuja city, ambitious developers knock down government projects to build luxury homes and brownstone buildings that occupy large area mass and lead to poor area planning. These efforts can only be halted by the government.

To conclude, the government is the major catalyst in all housing solutions and they need to prioritize their efforts before these cities become gentrified.