The idea of having a single career is becoming an old fashioned one. The

new fashion mil be to have several careers or ways of earning money and

further education will be something that continues throughout life.

Career is one of the most important aspect of an individual’s life. Career doesn’t begin when you enter the university rather it begins the day you step into pre-school. The learning of ABCs are imparted to move-on to complex topics and further to streams, industries and life choices. As we proceed towards adulthood studies become a pioneer to decide the career one wants to get in for the life. However a question always alarms me “Is one career enough for a lifetime?”. My answer to this would be NO. The age old belief of ‘Jack of All Master of None’ is so solemnly imparted in us that we believe that not being ‘MASTER’ in it shall doom our life.

In this ever-evolving world, sticking on to something and deciding on it for a lifetime could possibly mean closing doors for the newer- evolving careers. As young as teens or 20 year olds are asked to decided what would the prefer and continue till they’re possibly 60. An average career span of an Individual last around 20 years which is a pretty long period of 2 decades. Post 1980s every decade has had an enormous number of changes. From culture to music, from festivities to celebration , fashion, technology, etc. Each of these huge fields have seen a distinguishable amount of newness and transitions. Given the trend continues skills today learnt might be extremely irrelevant 2 decades down. Area of specialization in only field may kill opportunities to enter and excel other field.

It’s true that learning never ends if a person is open to it. As much as one learns nothing is ever enough. From Career point of view, one can do majors in a fields and have diplomas in other fields. This not only teaches you variety of skills but also opens doors for opportunities in other fields. Also, it can help you establish various careers, side business and overall wealth creation. In bad times the side business or jobs can help you sustain financially and be a platform to switch over.

We often have heard that never put all your eggs in same basket , we forget to draw that the time in our life is no less than investment and putting all your time, energy and efforts into one basket increases the risk to a relatively high extent & time once gone never comes back.