Fatherhood ought to be emphasised as much as motherhood. The idea that women are

solely responsible for deciding whether or not to have babies leads on to the idea that they

are also responsible for bringing the children up

Father and mother both have an equal and vital role to play in a child’s birth and upbringing. Even in the current times most of the societies across several countries still consider mother more important parent over the father. Motherhood is widely spoken and considered while making decision around children. Whether the decision to have child or custody of child or adoption mother are given an upper edge over the fathers.

Specifically when there is decision about bringing a child into the world, it’s majorly where only women are asked if they wish to have child or bear the child. This often puts women under physical, social and mental pressure. It comes across to them that they will be only one who has to raise the child solely and primarily. Whether it is looking after the health of child, dropping them to school , looking after their studies, extra-curricular all of these prime responsibilities will be on their shoulder. This to a certain extent, this is reality of many societies.

Many women are asked to drop their careers or themselves stop pursuing their aspirations in life due to responsibility of raising child. Fathers on the other hand have relatively lower societal expectations compared to mothers. However, this seems and highly imbalanced culture. Fatherhood should be also be brought into notice.

It is essential that fathers are equally asked whether they wish to have child, are they emotionally, mentally ready for the responsibilities beyond the financial aspect ? How will they accommodate their career along with responsibility of fatherhood?

Fatherhood equally needs to be emphasized as much as motherhood as it gives father a sense of importance in the child’s life. It brings them the awareness and close look to duties they require to perform as a parent, efforts and patience it takes to raise child and have equal time and presence in their child's life. Moreover, it helps them become empathetic towards other and look at things differently, learn to maintain balance and take equal forefront in raising the child.