Increasing the age limit for new drivers will help in achieving better road safety. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent times we have been giving more importance to safe commute to prevent accidents. The argument goes that in order to accomplish it the qualifying age for new drivers should be increased. This essay will highlight highlight that increased age limit will reduce mis-happenings.

To commence with, majority accidents are caused by reckless driving of young novice drivers, who drive vehicles in overspeed or do not wear seatbelts. This is because they are not mature enough to drive cautiously or do not understand that their actions can result into serious problems consequently. If people are allowed to drive at an increased age then they will become grown-ups and drive responsibly thus leading to less tragic accidents. For instance, a 22 years old working professional in comparison to a young college student ,who is 18 years old, is less likely to get into road accident while driving and follow traffic rules.

Furthermore, parents, business people and working professionals check cars for any faults before they start driving and install air-bags for emergency situations. In contrast, new teenage drivers do not want to spend their time in performing these checks, resulting in break-down or terrible accidents due to missing air-bags. Also, when people grow-up and start earning money they can spend more on getting safety measures installed in their vehicles.

In conclusion, increasing age limit for driving will certainly help in increasing road safety and make road transport to be much more safer option as new drivers will drive safely and take necessary actions to cut impact of adverse situations.