An increasing number of developing countries are expanding their tourist industry Why do you think it is the case Do you think it is a positive or negative development

Tourism is already a big industry, and this is expanding rapidly in many developing countries. Many such countries have taken extensive initiatives to expand their tourism sector and many of them have gained enviable popularity. I believe that the reasons for developing countries to embark on this enterprise are many folds, and this is quite a positive development for them.

First and foremost, popularity around the world is the reason many emerging countries are improving their tourism. They know that prevalence and exposure to the world are the keys to expanding their presence and dominance in the world. For instance, Malaysia is a well-known Asian country, and the expansion of its tourism sector has established its presence on the global map. Second, the tourism industry brings foreign money that can be used for the development of the country. For instance, developing countries like Thailand, China and Spain are earning huge foreign currency from their tourism industries. Third, tourism actually increases the business opportunities of a country and thus many countries are having a better trade relationship with developed countries only because the tourists of the western world came to visit such countries and thought about the business potentials. Finally, tourism creates job opportunities for local people and gives the host country an excellent opportunity to develop their infrastructure.

I believe that, despite some negative effects, the tourism industry offers numerous benefits to a country. Among the negative effects, pollutions, influences of foreign culture and the threat of terrorism are often mentioned. However, in this era of globalisation countries cannot shut their doors to foreigners. So the tourism industry is rapidly enhancing and a country should take advantages of it. Earning foreign remittance, creating jobs for local people, introducing unique traditions, improving the transportation system, knowing cultural diversity are some of the quite astonishing advantages that development of tourism can offer.

In conclusion, the main reason developing countries are extending their tourism enterprises is that they understand the immense potential and benefits this industry offers and without any doubt, this is quite a positive development.