An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

The amount of people electing to buy items they need via the Internet keeps going on the rise. This essay will suggest ease of shopping and range of choices available as advantages while discussing the possibility of being scammed, as well as difference in quality in what the vendor online displays and what is actually delivered to the customer as the major downsides.

Those who buy things via online platforms experience ease. This is because they are able to purchase their items from their comfort zones as against those who elect to buy things traditionally by physically going to the markets and supermarkets. The choice to carry out these transactions at their own ease and from their homes is a major plus. For instance, paying my school fees via online platforms is more comfortable than going to the Bank to do it. Moreover, people who shop online are able to choose from a wider range of choices and are therefore spoilt for choices. This is because they have a number of websites and vendors to choose from, and are therefore able to pick only the best available in the market.

However, a major downturn to buying commodities online is the susceptibility to falling for scams. The Internet gives cover to fraudsters who pretend to be vendors with the intention to defraud unsuspecting victims. For example, a friend of mine once fell victim to a scammer who posed as an online vendor and had him pay for a good that was never delivered. Furthermore, a lot of items sold on the Internet are substandard but nevertheless are presented to unsuspecting buyers are standard. As the customers have the disadvantage of inspecting the items before buying, they are likely to buy different substantially different from what they ordered. In 2016 for example, I ordered a denim shoe online but got a basic one instead, because I didn’t inspect the item physically before paying.

In conclusion, the number of people buying things online is on the rise. While the merits to this are the comfort it gives shoppers as well as the many choices it gives to them, the downsides to this are the variety in quality and the possibility of getting conned by fraudsters posing as vendors.