An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Technological advancements have impacted the education sector. The affordability of devices like laptops and tablets have led schools to capitalize on the computer-savvy trend by distributing them as learning devices to replace traditional books and printed materials. There are several advantages and disadvantages associated with this technological shift, which will be elaborated upon in the following paragraphs.

One of the most important advantages of going green is saving paper, which helps protect the environment to a great degree. Children learn to search for relevant information on the internet or go through e-books to complete assignments, thereby obviating the need for books. They also learn to type faster, which is a universal skill required in majority of the jobs. The unprecedented Coronavirus pandemic has showed us the importance of laptops for learning as most of the teaching has moved to online classes.

On the flip side, the value of traditional education methods with books cannot be replaced. If laptop use is encouraged from a young age, children do not develop the ability to write on paper and most of them will have illegible handwritings. Developing children strain their eyes permanently if they have to work on a computer all day, both in school and the house. This is one of the reasons that many children wear glasses nowadays. Integrity of examinations will be compromised since children can figure out how to store information on the laptop and copy from it. More importantly, every school cannot afford laptops, which leads to differing teaching methods, and consequently, differing ways in which children reproduce the information that they have learnt.

In conclusion, the distribution of computer-based devices by schools come with a host of advantages and disadvantages. Advantages include saving paper, the ability to search for information, type faster and learn remotely. The disadvantages are the effects on the eyes, loss of examination integrity and differing teaching methods among schools. It has been seen that schools use both these modes to augment children’s educational experience, rather than using one over the other.