Recently, abortion increases rapidly and becomes a controversial topic. Some people suppose that abortion should be legal while others are against it.

Abortion is the most divisive subject among liberals and conservatives, especially in the United States. The landmark judgement in the Roe vs Wade case granted liberty to a pregnant woman to make her choice regarding abortions. However, there are still some legal issues because some people are for abortions while some are against it and their opinions will be elaborated upon in the following paragraphs.

Those advocating legalization of abortion see it is a personal decision. They believe that abortion would be pragmatic in many situations. The parents may be unable to cover the costs of raising a child, their work lives may prevent them from having enough time to raise children or if it was an unplanned or accidental pregnancy. In such cases, it is incorrect to burden two people with the responsibility of raising a child, which might eventually not grow up under the right conditions.

Those against abortions are mainly guided by religious beliefs. Christians believe that it is a sin to kill an innocent human life even before it is born as every life is important, which make them oppose abortion. Since the United States is a largely Christian nation, it is understandable to see why abortions has a large opposition. It infringes on the ideals they believe in and were taught about. Hence, different states have different laws for it based on ruling party in that state.

In conclusion, the topic of abortion creates divisiveness. While some people advocate on its legalization from a pragmatist’s view, others oppose it based on religious beliefs. I personally believe that abortions should be legal and the personal choice of the people involved because raising a child requires a lot of financial and personal commitments. They should not be burdened into parenthood for a small mistake because pregnancies can be unplanned or accidental.