The idea of having a single career is becoming an old fashioned one. The new fashion will be to have several careers or ways of earning money and further education will be something that continues throughout life.

In the age of escalating prices, the norm of having a single job or career is passe. Modern professionals find it more sustainable to have more than one job, even though it greatly reduces their free time. Nowadays, more and more professionals are maintaining more than one job or furthering their skills through advanced education courses in order to earn more money.

The trend of maintaining more than one job or gig is called ‘gig economy’. It consists of many different professionals working more than one job as a way to gain more knowledge and experience faster, and earn more money. This is popular among print media journalists, who often write for different publications. They may have a job at one newspaper company but they also make themselves available as freelancers to research and complete certain news pieces from another newspapers or online news websites. Another example of a gig economy is a cab driver who may work for both Uber and Lyft simultaneously.

Furthering education is a great way of honing skills or learning new ones, which will not only make for a valuable employee but also open the door for many better opportunities as well. Learning never stops after college and a vast majority of the workforce attend evening classes at a university or take online courses on websites like edX, Coursera, to name a few, to expand their skill sets. In doing so, they are in a position to command more money from their employers.

In conclusion, the trend of a gig economy and furthering one skill sets is here to stay. It not only assures more money to professionals, but also broadens their experiences and make them well equipped. In the bigger picture, it ensures that the workforce of a country continuously improve their skill sets and become better workers.