Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

Recreation forms a major part of a child’s life. The activities that they are involved in eventually shape up the person that they become in the future. Prior to the advent of computers and smartphones, a vast majority of children used to spend their recreation time playing several sports with their friends. The advancement of technology and user interfaces have shifted children’s focus towards addictive games that different companies seem to launch every other day with the promise of a better gaming experience. The author states that children spend a lot of time playing computer games and lesser time on sports and I personally believe that it is a negative development. I will buttress my argument with several reasons in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, when children spend more time playing computer games, it consequently leaves them lesser time to engage in physical activity. Children are of an age where their bodies are developing and muscles are forming. With lack of physical activity, there is no incentive for muscle development. Lack of physical activity also leads children to consume lesser nutritious and greasier foods, leading to obesity. The effects of obesity are well known, with cholesterol and cardiovascular diseases being the two most common diseases associated with it. Another important aspect is that children who do not play sports would have no experience of working as a team from a young age and we are aware how important teamwork is in today’s corporate sphere.

Secondly, the effects of computer games on the overall physical development of children are very harmful. While the development of muscles is affected, the organs of the body are no exception. Large amounts of time spent staring at the computer screen reduces the ability of the eyes to produce tears and weakens the nerves. This is the main reason that we see so many children wearing glasses nowadays, as compared to those about twenty years ago. Children who take up sports like basketball and swimming are generally taller and physically better-built when compared to children who spend their time playing computer games.

Thirdly, the knock-on effects of computer games on studies must not be ignored. Children who play a lot of games would not find a lot of time to complete their assignments or devote enough time for their studies. This would result in lower grades. In today’s competitive world, lower grades would mean that children cannot be accepted by good colleges and universities, leading to a lower standard of education and fewer job opportunities.

Games like PUBG, World of Warcraft, Counter Strike, FIFA, to name a few provide the opportunity for children to spend hours on end playing with their friends or with people who live half a world away. The gaming experience and connectivity of the world make sports a less attractive proposition for children. Lack of physical activity, the effects on the development of their young bodies and the negative impact of computer games on studies are some of the main reasons that computer games negatively affect children’s development. The onus is on the parents to curb screen time of children and ensure that they have enough physical activity for better growth and development.