Increasing numbers of students are choosing to study abroad. To what extent does this trend benefit the students themselves and the countries involved? What are the drawbacks?

Education overseas is growing in popularity. Some teachers state that it is advantageous for both students and countries, while economists believe that it is disadvantageous for them. In this essay, I will consider both pros and cons of graduation abroad.

Let us start with the main advantage of studying in another country for children as well as countries. For overseas students, it allows them to develop their language skills, because they can completely immerse themselves into the language environment. For host countries, it is an opportunity to raise additional income on those who come to study from other nations through tuition fees. As a result, they can cover some holes in the budget and increase wages for university staff as well.

However, there are some disadvantages of graduating overseas. The major drawback for students is that they often suffer from homelessness. Many foreign students have a poor academic performance, since they find it arduous to live with no parental support. Consequently, they either fail to pass some exams or drop university. Moreover, host countries have to deal with the shortage of accommodation. The better the education system is in the target country, the more overseas students desire to study there. This situation frequently causes a lack of housing for new students. Therefore, the government usually has to address this problem, if the tendency continues to grow.

In conclusion, even though studying overseas has many positive effects on both students and recipient countries, it also poses a great deal of problems for them.