Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

In recent times, experts both from under developed and developed societies, have argued that the appropriate method of solving the increasing traffic and pollution challenges facing the world is by hiking the cost of Premium Motor Spirit (PMS). In my opinion, I vehemently disagree with this line of thought, and further propose cleaner and greener measures to solving this growing concern.

To begin with, road transportation, among other means such as air and water transportation, is the easiest, cheapest and most flexible available way of conveying goods. Therefore, no matter the hike in petrol price, people will continue to pay the premium for such product and services. This implies that, an increase in petrol price will not yield the desired result of reduced traffic and pollution. For instance, the Nigerian government has increased the cost of petrol on several occasions, but this has not reduced vehicular traffic experienced in Lagos metropolis. Furthermore, nearly 100% of vehicles and generators use petrol and diesel, by-products of crude oil as their energy source. Admittedly, increasing the cost of these commodities will majorly increase the cost of production, rather than controlling pollution.

There are novel and cleaner measures which can be adopted in a bid to resolve the growing challenge of pollution and traffic. One solution is by exploring greener sources of energy for vehicle such as electric cars, which are powered by electric energy. These vehicles do not emit greenhouse gases, such as carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide which are responsible for ozone layer depletion and ultimately, global warming. An empirical survey by The Times magazine indicated that global warming index dropped significantly by 60% when 5% of fossil fuel cars were replaced by electric cars. Secondly, government and private sector intervention in alternative means of transportation, such as rail and water transportation will considerably reduce road traffic. In addition, pollution will also experience a decline, because trains and boats consume less energy and simultaneously, there will be fewer cars on the road. An example is Lagos state, where traffic reduced by 70% with the introduction of the Epe and Lagos Island sea port.

To recapitulate, I totally disagree that petrol price increase will solve the problem of traffic and pollution. These setbacks can be appropriately tackled by government and private sector partnership in exploring other means of transportation as well as investing in electric cars.